What Is the Second Largest County in Georgia?

The second largest county in Georgia is Gwinnett County. Located in the north-central part of the state, Gwinnett County is home to an estimated population of 920,000 people. It is one of the fastest growing counties in the United States, and is home to numerous cities and towns, including Lawrenceville, Duluth, Buford, and Suwanee.

Gwinnett County was created in 1818 from parts of Jackson, Walton, and Hall counties. It is named after Button Gwinnett, one of the three signatories of the Declaration of Independence. Gwinnett County is governed by a five-member county commission, which is elected by the citizens of Gwinnett County. The county has an executive form of government and is divided into five districts.

Gwinnett County is home to numerous parks, lakes, and other recreational areas. It is also home to the Gwinnett Braves, a minor league baseball team that is affiliated with the Atlanta Braves. The county is also home to several universities and colleges, including Gwinnett Technical College, Georgia Gwinnett College, and the University of Georgia.

Gwinnett County offers a variety of services and amenities to its citizens. These include public libraries, fire and police services, public transportation, and public health services. The county also offers a wide range of recreational activities, including cycling, hiking, and fishing.

Gwinnett County is a great place to live and work, and its citizens enjoy a high quality of life and a strong sense of community. With its diverse population, numerous amenities, and excellent educational and recreational opportunities, Gwinnett County is truly a great place to call home.

Filed Under: